Content Layers in Curriculum Designing

Most standards of learning typically contain three content layers:

  • Explicit content
  • Implied content
  • Conditional content

If content is regarded as the subject matter to be delivered to the learners, the subject matter referred to is called the explicit content.  Explicit content however, cannot exist in isolation.

Adult learners learn, by combining new knowledge with their existing knowledge.  In a workplace learning scenarios, there is always a prerequisite to a learning curriculum.  This prerequisite knowledge and its content format is called implied content.

Learning content in many cases is also dependent upon preliminary sources to be studied.  This type of content calls for learner engagement with explicit content.  Such content requiring learner engagement with explicit content is regarded as conditional content.

A clear understanding and segmentation between explicit content, implied content and conditional content helps trainers in developing an effective learning curriculum.

EditorContent Layers in Curriculum Designing
Share this post

Related Posts